Project Description

Dr. He was born in Changsha, China, in 1966. He received the B.Sc. degree from Wuhan University of Hydraulic and Electrical Engineering, Wuhan, China, the M.Sc. degree from Chongqing University, Chongqing, China, and the Ph.D. degree from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, all in electrical engineering, in 1988, 1991 and 1994, respectively. Prof. He joined the Department of Electrical Engineering, Tsinghua University in April 1994, and became a Professor in August 2001. From April 1997 to April 1998, he was a Visiting Scientist in Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute in Changwon, Korea. Now he is the Chair of High Voltage Engineering Research Institute in Tsinghua University. His research interests concern lightning and overvoltage protection of power system and electronic system, grounding technology and electromagnetic environment of power system, electromagnetic compatibility, advanced varistor material and surge arresters, dielectric materials and current sensors for smart grid. Prof. He is the Chair of China Lightning Protection Standardization Technology Committee, and the Chair of High Voltage Committee of Beijing Electrical Engineering Society, and members of Electromagnetic Interference Protection Committee and Transmission Line Committee of Chinese Society for Electrical Engineering, and China Surge Arrester Standardization Technology Committee. He is the China representative of IEC TC 81, members of IEC TC81 MT3, MT8 and MT9; the secretary of Standard Education and Training Committee of IEEE EMC Society, the Convenor of CIGRE C4.26 “ Evaluation of Lightning Shielding Analysis Methods for EHV and UHV DC and AC Overhead Transmission Lines”, and member of CIGRE WG C4.501, and C4.410. Dr. He is the chief editor of the Journal of Lightning Protection and Standardization (in Chinese), and associate editor of the Journal of Lightning Research and IEEE Transactions on Power Delivery. He is the President of 2010 Asia-Pacific Symposium on Electromagnetic Compatibility (APEMC) in Beijing, the Chairman of 2011 Asia-Pacific Conference on Lightning (APL), in Chengdu, China. His research works had won him a National Invention Award in 2008 and 12 Science and Technology Awards of Province/Ministry-grade. His coauthored paper won the best student paper in 2008 Asia-Pacific Symposium on EMC and 19th Zurich International Symposium on EMC. He won the Technical Achievement Award of IEEE EMC Society in 2010 due to his significant contribution in lightning protection and grounding for power systems, and won the Certificate of Acknowledgement from IEEE EMC Society in 2011 due to his outstanding contribution and leadership to the organization of the 2010 APEMC, Beijing, China. Prof. He obtained the honor of China National Outstanding Young Scientist Foundation in 2004, which is the highest honor for young scientists in China. He was elected as Changjiang Scholar Professor of China Education Ministry in 2009. He was elected a Fellow of IEEE in 2007 due to contribution in lightning protection and grounding technology in power transmission system, and a Fellow of IET in 2011. Prof. He had co-authored more than 130 papers in peer review international archival journals and transactions, more than 100 papers in refereed Chinese archival journals, and more than 200 papers in international conferences proceedings, and six books.